To snack or not to snack?

28 Jul

I hate hunger; the empty, gnawing feeling that I constantly have.  This, of course, could explain why I am 45 lbs overweight.     Given that I have pledged not to eat processed food, I find snacking the hardest thing both to do and not to do.

Here is my current hit list of snacks (not all are great choices):

Carrots, Activia, Edy’s Popsicles, Almonds, A spoonful of peanut butter and that is about it.     Yes, I realize that apples, bananas and other fruits should be on this list and probably will be shortly – however, is this it?  What are some other healthy options?  Why am I having such a brain fart about this?

One Response to “To snack or not to snack?”

  1. mostlyfitmom August 9, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    Definitely add fruit on there. And low-fat yogurt. Small amounts of low-fat cheese (like a cheesestring). Maybe add a little hummus to those carrots? Also consider fat-free pudding, a glass of skim milk or low-fat chocolate milk. If you like V8 or tomato juice, those are options, too! I pretty much stick with 1 c of fat-free yogurt plus a piece of fruit every afternoon, and then a piece of fruit in the morning and evening, if I’m feeling hungry.

Leave a Reply

