Alas… It is time to put up or shut up.

9 Aug

So, my weight took a turn for the worse at the end of the week and so did my eating.  Although I don’t think I ate enough to gain the two pounds that I lost – the digits say otherwise.  This is leading me to rethink my ” no food journal” approach.  Originally, I had planned on having the same thing everyday for breakfast and lunch. Dinner would be meat and veggies. And while I still want to do this – I need to recognize that there is more variety and my snacking needs to get under control.   I need to get under control.  This also includes working out.  I managed to fit in something most days.  However, it is not enough. I need to start brick workouts (two a day – biking and running, swimming and running).  I only have 3 months until the full triathlon.    If I was a betting woman, the odds aren’t good that I am going to make it.    And the overweight man on his mountain bike who passed me (overweight woman on my coolio Giant racing bike)  would agree.   Yea, that was painful.

Looking ahead for the week:   I will..

keep a food journal, not eat processed food, stop eating at 8, limit my carbs, start some brick workouts, and no alcohol.

My weight goal is simply to see the digit 191.  It can be 191.9 and I will be a happy camper.   Ideally, I would love, love, love to see 180 something by the end of the month (please god, please god).     Maternity leave is soon up – and I will be going back to work full time.  I really wanted to be (at least) at my pre-pregnancy weight by then.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like that is going to happen.  Sigh.

8 Responses to “Alas… It is time to put up or shut up.”

  1. itsjustmemonica August 9, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    Hey Girl…I have a great website for you to log your foods, exercise, etc and get extra support and answers to your questions. I use it everyday and it automatically calculates your calories, fat, sodium, carbs, protein and a bunch of other things.

    http://caloriecount.about.com/

    You’ll love it, I promise.

  2. itsjustmemonica August 9, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    Oh and it’s totally FREE!!

  3. couchpotatoathlete August 9, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    I *need* my food journal — It helps me plan and it helps me stay on track. You can totally get to your goal — stay positive and work for it. You deserve it.

  4. mostlyfitmom August 9, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    Wow! We have so much in common! I’m turning 35 in November, have 30 lbs left to lose to my target (but I’ve lost 20 so far, so yay me!). I seriously could have written some of your posts; you sound just like me! Chocolate chips call my name…

    I am pro food journalling daily. Has made a huge difference for me.

    I am totally adding you to my blogroll and look forward to reading more! And I may be hitting you up for triathlon tips next season, as I only have one (sprint) under my belt. Am doing my first half marathon in September.

    Sounds like you have a lot of obstacles: new baby, husband out of town. That’s tough, but seems like you’re doing great so far 🙂 Can’t be perfect all the time, right? I can attest to the fact that small changes add up. You CAN do it!

    I am totally adding you to my blogroll and look forward to reading more! And I may be hitting you up for triathlon tips next season, as I only have one (sprint) under my belt. Am doing my first half marathon in September.

    • 45before35 August 9, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

      Great minds think a like! 20 lbs is such an achievement! I am redoing parts of the site right now and am going to have a list of tri moms – and of course, your blog will be listed. I look forward to your great posts and advice.

      • mostlyfitmom August 9, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

        Thanks!

        I also forgot to mention I have a Diet Pepsi addiction and my favourite gossip website is laineygossip.com (be careful – once you start, you can’t stop!)

  5. Stephanie@ avocado nation August 13, 2010 at 12:58 am #

    I log on the Daily Plate. I used to do calorie count, but you do have to pay like 9 dollars a month.

    Also, DO NOT count yourself out before you’ve even begun. People do triathlons with one leg or while suffering from cancer. You can do this! Just set your mind to it, go out there ti finish, and have fun while doing it. No one is judging you but yourself.

Leave a Reply

