Apparently going hungry works.

10 Aug

I journaled and counted calories yesterday.  And while I was mostly aware of how many calories I was consuming (notable exception being Dunkin Donuts Large Iced Coffee with Cream and Sugar is 250 calories) the error of my ways came down to addition.  Damn math.  Apparently, things add up quite quickly.  Who knew:)

Around seven o’clock I was pretty proud of myself.  I thought I had at least 200-300 calories to snack on and…. no.  I was at my limit 1800 calories (as a reminder I am breastfeeding and can’t go below this number).    So I went hungry, very hungry.  I hate this feeling.   All I kept thinking about was an Oprah show – you know, where Bob the trainer and her lament on the latest weight loss strategies and he starts to shill for his own up and coming brand.  Oprah and Bob endorse the stop eating at 8 or 7:30 plan and (this is what kept running through my head) Oprah said (I am paraphrasing)  that hungry feeling is good! It means you are starting to lose weight.     Apparently Oprah was right.  She is a higher power.  Today, I hit a new low 192.4.

2 Responses to “Apparently going hungry works.”

  1. mostlyfitmom August 10, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    The Beck Diet Solution, a book I really liked and that has really made a difference in how I view food, also says the same thing: sometimes, when you’re trying to lose weight, you’re going to be hungry. I think that all the health and fitness magazines do us a disservice by having headlines like “Lose Weight Without Feeling Hungry.” Way to stick to your plan!

  2. TheHealthyApron August 11, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    I just don’t believe in the rule. You should eat when you are hungry but late nigth snacking IS tricky. If you are going to have a snack, you should plan for it!

Leave a Reply

