Celebrate the Farmer’s Market!

15 Aug

Vegetables have become my friend this year.  And their home is the Farmer’s Market.   Holly’s post yesterday reminded me that most (or at least, many) of us probably go to a local Farmer’s Market.  Our market is relatively new and I have grown to love it.  If there was ever a doubt whether to buy produce at a Farmer’s Market or a local grocery store – taste a tomato.  Seriously, the food tastes so much better – you realize that vegetables actually have so much flavor and it is often the same price or cheaper. 

 There is so much beauty at a Farmer’s Market.  Not only is it aesthetically pleasing – as you look down the aisle and see a vibrant rainbow of colors (red raspberries, green lettuce, purple eggplant), but there also is beauty in purchasing from the individual that actually cared for what you will soon be putting in your body.

So – Today lets celebrate the Farmer’s Market!   Post your pictures.

Tell us about your local Farmer’s Market.  What does it have?  What would be your ideal Farmer’s Market?

Lastly – what did you purchase?

17 Responses to “Celebrate the Farmer’s Market!”

  1. Wendy @ Seriously Sassy August 15, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    LOVE your farmers market pictures!! I couldn’t agree with you more – the produce at these markets is beautiful! Look at those shiny purple eggplants.
    I have lots of farmers market pics on my bloggy. We try to get to one every weekend but didn’t make it this weekend. Poo. But Trader Joe’s will suffice quite nicely when I shop tomorrow. 🙂
    Have you ever checked out http://www.localharvest.com? Awesome!

  2. mostlyfitmom August 15, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    I feel like I should definitely hit the Farmer’s Market more, because you’re right – the food really DOES taste so much better. Unfortunately, it’s a bit of a drive for us and requires planning ahead. Let’s just say it’s on my to do list. 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

    • 45before35 August 15, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

      It is worth the effort. Have a great day -I just got back from my best run yet! I now have hope that I will be able to do all of this!

  3. SheFit August 15, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    Love the pictures! I went to a local farmers market for the firs time last week and loved it. I wish ours was larger, but I’m sure with the heat, very few people want to stand out there in 115 degree weather 🙂

    • 45before35 August 15, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

      Ours is very small too. And yes, there are limits to the power of veggies – 115 – wow.

  4. Angela (the diet book junkie) August 15, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    love farmer’s markets! we have a bunch scattered around town, but the only one within walking distance is only open 1 weekend a month. (that’s what you get for living downtown.) produce here is really expensive ($1 an apple?)so it’s nice when you don’t have to suffer that:)

  5. Robyn August 15, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    I didn’t get to hit up my farmer’s market today so I’ll live vicariously through your pics. Especially those baskets of eggplant, yum!

    • 45before35 August 15, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

      They were beauties. I never quite know what to do with an eggplant though.

  6. Danielle August 15, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    I wanted to get to a Farmers Market while I was out of town for the weekend but didn’t manage to find the time. Luckily, markets run basically year-round here in Auckland, so I can always look forward to picking up some goodies Sunday morning.

    I usually grab whatever veggies l can as they’re always so much cheaper than the supermarkets and taste so much better. I tend to splurge on a bit of a treat for myself, too. Either a fresh baked or grilled something – depending on how close to lunch it is and what they’re making at the time.

  7. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com August 15, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    theyre the ebst arent they!!

    i just went to one yesterday and picked up corn on the cob, swiss chard, cherries, blackberries, and broccoli! oh and squash 🙂

    xo

  8. Karen@WaistingTime August 16, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    My ideal farmer’s market would be less crowded! And not so expensive:( Last time I went I got different colored cherry tomatoes to snack on and zucchini that I have yet to cook. I am not a fan of squash but am trying to branch out. BTW – I love how you have your height measurement. I am partial inches too and claim it!

    • 45before35 August 16, 2010 at 10:00 am #

      Heck yea I am counting partial inches – anything I can get:)

  9. Laury @thefitnessdish August 16, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    My local farm has lots of tomatoes and corn right now, its what they are known for! My only problem wit it is they have a lot of produce fro out of the country, I guess because they want people to shop in one place, but ts not organic, and not local..so I stick to all the local stuff i can get there!! I need to spend less time in Whole Foods (where I do buy all the local stuff) and more time at farms, my wallet would appreciate it!

    • 45before35 August 16, 2010 at 9:59 am #

      Our farmer’s market mandates that everything is local – city first, county next and last our local state region. Sorry your market does that – what is the point!

  10. couchpotatoathlete August 16, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    🙂 Thanks for the shout-out!

    I didn’t take too many pics this week of my FM. My niece was going nuts for all the “Bobs and Larrys” — that is Veggietales talk for tomatoes and cucumbers. She is so adorable.

    We got some wonderful beets ($2!), fingerling potatoes ($1!) and garlic $1!) I love how cheap it all is!

    • 45before35 August 16, 2010 at 5:42 pm #

      No prob – thanks for the idea.

  11. Holly @ Self-love and Running August 18, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    I love the farmers market! We got to at least one a week. Thankfully ours is indoor and goes all year round. Love that! We get all of our produce and much of our meat and cheese from the farmers market.

Leave a Reply

