Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes…

16 Aug

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Oh, look out you rock ‘n rollers
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Pretty soon you’re gonna get a little older
Time may change me
But I can’t trace time
I said that time may change me
But I can’t trace time  (David Bowie)

I think I may have lost 5 pounds (give or take).  The scale has circled 190 for two days  (not continuous mind you) – more importantly, I think I am changing.  My diet is changing.    Evidence of my dietary change or rather, evolution is:

  • I resisted a spinach dip sample at Costco
  • I tasted a lentil soup sample at Costco (darn Costco samples) – however, hated it because it tasted more like Hormel canned chili than actual Lentil – too processed.  Who knew I could feel that way.
  • I don’t remember the last time I had crackers or boxed cookies.
  • I shop primarily around the perimeter of the grocery store and not the middle section
  • I have given up my ice cream addiction

And the ultimate proof that I think I have really, really changed.     

  • I went through a bag of carrots in a matter of days and was genuinely upset when they were gone.  

I truly think that my love of processed food is diminishing (but acknowledge there will always be a little love for Kraft Mac and Cheese and other frankenfood – again, not a saint).   Please believe me when I type that I am not PollyAnna about all of this – unhealthy foods will always probably hold a place near and dear to my heart.  I just don’t want them to hold a place near my lips.  

So my question to all is –

Was there a moment when you thought “Wow, I really have changed – I am truly a healthier person now?”  What was it?

11 Responses to “Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes…”

  1. mostlyfitmom August 16, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    I got up at 6am to get my work out in because I wouldn’t have time later in the day, and I had a schedule, darn it! Seriously, I HATE mornings, so this was a huge deal for me.

    Turning down food is tough, though! Random stuff I can turn down (now), but when a family member or friend makes it, it’s pretty hard to say no.

  2. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com August 16, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    oh i definitely had a moment like that! and it wasent too long ago!! i actually noticed feeling more mature and proud of myself shortly after turning 21. people took me seriously when i had something to say which i never experienced before, but it was because i was willing to take MYSELF seriously and be honest with who i am. im comfortable in my skin for the first time and feel confident with my beliefs/ who i am. 🙂

  3. couchpotatoathlete August 16, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    Sad to see carrots gone? You are healthy!!!

    I’m still in the process of seeing myself as “healthy” — but I feel that way when I go a restaurant and order something healthy, instead of a big greasy burger (which is what I would always get, no matter where we went).

    I love mac and cheese too — I think that is one food that could bring about world peace 🙂

  4. Danielle August 17, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    I don’t think I’ve had an “a-ha!” moment just yet, but I do shop around the outside perimeter of the store when I buy groceries and I’ve managed to not have any mini Toblerone bars, despite there being a seemingly endless supply of them sitting on the main meeting table at work for the past 2 weeks. Go iron will!
    For me, it’s been more of a slow transition than sudden change. I’m liking – and craving – healthier and healthier foods and finding “bad” foods aren’t as appealing. And I was quite upset the other day when I found out there was no broccoli at home because I really wanted to have some steamed broccoli. (I guess that’s a pretty big moment, though!) I bought a nice big head of broccoli the next day. 🙂

  5. Joanne August 17, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    Running did that to me. When I wanted to run faster and for longer distances, I knew my eating habits had to get better.

    • 45before35 August 18, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

      Yes – focusing on running, biking, etc. changes your outlook on food. You need to eat healthier – and you also have to eat for energy. You also want to get lighter simply to perform better. Case in point – My knees have stopped hurting now – I think becuase I lost a little weight.

  6. Stephanie@ avocado nation August 17, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    It was very slowly but I realized I was changing recently when I went to a party and didn’t eat because I genuinely wasn’t hungry. Normally, I have to eat because the food is in front of me. I’m glad I am getting out of that habit!

    • 45before35 August 18, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

      That is impressive to me – I was not that good last night.

  7. Angela (the diet book junkie) August 17, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    congratulations on your weight loss, that’s awesome!!!

    i’m not sure when i decided to start eating healthy, i don’t think it came all at once. just here and there, i thought “maybe i should give up bagels?” or “maybe i should give up nachos?”… with some foods, i have to give it up completely, no “moderation” because quite frankly, i don’t know what “moderation” is. 🙂

    • 45before35 August 18, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

      Yes, moderation is problematic for me as well. I bought bite size chocolate thinking I have iron willpower…and of course, no I do not. I buy peanut butter thinking I will only spread it on my morning muffin and no – I do not. I guess forbidding is the way to go right now.

Leave a Reply

