Missing: Motivation and Maternity Leave

19 Aug

It is time for me to go back to work – ok, so August 31st is really the first day I physically have to be at work – however, I need to start preparing to go back, start projects, planning, etc.  And I have no motivation.  I mean none.  I can’t bring myself to open word documents or return work related emails,  I start cringing at the thought of meetings and get cranky thinking…well, about anything.    Unfortunately, this is starting to reach other aspects of my life.  My house is a disaster;  laundry piles can be found throughout the house and I am at the point now where I don’t know what is clean or dirty.  My eating hasn’t been great for the last two days (not horrible – I have fallen-off-the-wagon-bad, but not good). And I skipped a workout and had a crappy run today.  It ain’t pretty over here.  

The thing is, I don’t know what my problem is. I really haven’t been dwelling on anything (See Happiness challenge week 3).   In some respects, I am excited to get back to work;  excited to wear real clothes, make-up, talk to adults, and have my breasts covered for long stretches of time – you know the simple things:) . Yet, a big part of me just wants to stay home and clean it from top to bottom, organize it, all the while cooing with my cutie pie baby.  Oh yea, and train my heart out.   

So – how do  I find motivation?   How do you find motivation?

Do reading blogs inspire you?  

Does seeing exciting motivational work posters do it for you?

Oops, I mean…

 Your kids?

I need a little motivation right now:) Help!

14 Responses to “Missing: Motivation and Maternity Leave”

  1. Danielle August 19, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    Reading other blogs definitely is a huge help for me when I need motivation. Or even rereading some of my old posts – ones posted when I was motivated and doing well and super proud of myself.

    I also do random things like slip on a bikini and look in a full length mirror. Depending on the day, my reaction will either be “Yes. This whole ‘healthy lifestyle’ thing is working. Wooo!” or “Whoa. Um. My craving for chocolate donuts is gone and I think a few sit-ups and a walk around the block would do me good!” Either way, it seems to work.

    With things non-diet/exercise related, I don’t know. Having guests over is a great motivator to get the house clean. Or giving myself a treat when I finish something I’ve been putting off. Like, I’ll treat myself to a sushi lunch or to a longer than usual walk if I can get that spreadsheet done.

    • 45before35 August 19, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

      Thank you for such a wonderful and thoughtful reply. And you are right about guests – My parents are coming in a few days so that will certainly light a fire (I have already started to clean.. a little).

  2. couchpotatoathlete August 19, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    Honestly, what works for me is faking it. I pretend I am motivated. I tell my husband all of my plans for the day (when they include cleaning, organizing, etc). I make a list and somehow those things keep me going. Even if I clean for 30 minutes and then watch tv for 30 minutes. That works too. Have little goals for each little amount of work done.

    For eating/exercising, when I lose motivation I get something new. A new sports bra, new socks, a new dvd, a new journal (aka 25 cent notebook) to log my food, etc. Anything to get me excited again. For me, the little things really push me along.

    And blogs totally help! I love to read about others living a healthy lifestyle, or training for an event, or how to organize your day.

    Try not to focus on ALL that you have to do. Take it a day at a time, plug away at your list of things to do and before you know it, you’re done!

  3. Ameena August 19, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    My trick is to get to the gym in the morning before I am coherent enough to talk myself out of it. By the time I am awake my workout is done and over with and I don’t have to worry about it the rest of the day.

    Putting on my smaller size jeans really gets me motivated because they were too expensive to get rid of, even if they are a tad bit tight!

    • 45before35 August 20, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      Yes, I am just cleaning out my closet and realizing that still nothing fits after the baby. So I am re-inspired to eat right/workout!

  4. mostlyfitmom August 19, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

    I feel like we could be the same person! I go back to school Monday, and have been living in total denial, except for a few meals stashed in the freezer and a week’s worth of meal plan. Had so many organizing plans for summer and pretty much none of them happened. *sigh* I would love to give you advice if I had some to pass along, but clearly I am struggling, too.

    On the other hand, I have been a stay at home mom for the past couple of months and am not good at it, so it’ll be nice to get a break from the kids. LOL Seriously, I think I’m a better mom when I’m not home with them all day.

    If I find any good blog on organization or motivation, I’ll pass them on!

    • 45before35 August 20, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

      Check out flylady.com for organization inspiration – I’ll do a post on it one of these days. And yes, I also don’t make a good stay at home mom. I think part of my problem is that I dwell on work when I am not at work. Anywho. Off to do load of laundry #3.

  5. Joanne August 20, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    You know, we all go through those slump times. Go with it. Accept that you feel that way but get up and do what you know you have to do. The days will get easier and easier as you get back into the normal work day routine.

  6. Wendy August 20, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Aw, you’ll do great. It is hard when motivation isn’t coming easy. I don’t work full-time but if I did and needed to find motivation to go back, hmm….at this blog-obsessed point in my life I would probably try to find a few good blogs about working moms!

    • 45before35 August 21, 2010 at 12:52 am #

      Yes – working mom blogs it is.

  7. Nic August 20, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    I just try to acomplish something small which usually makes me feel pretty good and USUALLY I want to keep that feeling so I can usually convinence myself to start on the bigger projects.

    As far as workouts go, I do it first thing in the morning and unless my body is really resisting, I just think of it as a necessary part of my day. No, if and or I’ll get a big butt 🙂

    • 45before35 August 21, 2010 at 12:54 am #

      Yes, early morning workouts are great – unfortunately, with two kids and a husband that is out of town every week – it can’t always happen. I wish I were a morning person..i envy those that are…

  8. 1bigissue August 20, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    Well, as the only man posting a reply, and one of the only men I have seen writing a weight loss diary online, my advice may be different. But, it’s not. All of these are good suggestions, I like to look back at old photos of myself, and also remeembering milestones, telling other people of your plans and hearing their successes are also great motivators, as you feel more inclined to do something because someone else knows about it, and may ask you how it went in future, and you wouldn’t want to lie now would you?!

    • 45before35 August 21, 2010 at 12:51 am #

      It is refreshing to have a man’s perspective and also to see a male blogging about weight. I actually feel a little old sometimes being in my 30s doing this. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

