Almond Butter vs. Peanut Butter Snackdown!

30 Aug

I recently made a switch from Peanut Butter to Almond Butter.  It was a hard choice, involving many dirty spoons.  So – why switch?  Here is my strange and somewhat researched reasons. 

  • All the cool kids in blogo world like it – must be good.  Peer pressure works.
  • Cashew butter seems too decadent – almond butter seems to be the nice compromise.
  • Perhaps the biggest reason – I can’t control my peanut butter love.  Spoonful, after yummy spoonful is consumed.  PB is filling, yet nutritious.  Sweet, yet not too sweet.  Healthy, yet full of calories and fat.   It is a rather confusing love.    So – almond butter became my new nut of choice – my hope was that I would like it, but not too much….
  • Another minor (but important reason) to embrace almond butter is that it is better nutritionally.  This excerpt is from Runner’s World:

            ” Almond butter has about the same amount of total fat as peanut butter but almost twice the monounsaturated fat, which helps    maintain healthy cholesterol levels, says Leslie Bonci, R.D., director of sports nutrition at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. A study in the Journal of the American College of Nutrition found that eating almond butter for four weeks reduced harmful LDL and raised HDL. Almond butter also packs more bone–building minerals like magnesium, calcium, and phosphorus, and more vitamin E, says Bonci. “Plus, it has a sweeter taste and doesn’t seem as heavy as peanut butter.”

So far I have, somewhat, resisted the urge to go spoon diving into Almond butter – so, I think I made the right decision!

Do you like almond butter better than Peanut Butter – what brand do you eat?

5 Responses to “Almond Butter vs. Peanut Butter Snackdown!”

  1. Karen August 30, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

    Great post! I definately prefer almond butter. But that is only because I do not like peanuts or peanut butter 🙂

    I like the Whole Foods brand of almond butter – no added sugar or other ingredients.

    I am trying to eat almond butter more because I usually eat cheese instead because I love chese. But almond butter is a much healthier fat. Your post has inspired me to get out my almond butter for this week 🙂

  2. Danielle August 31, 2010 at 12:16 am #

    I love peanut butter. LOVE. I probably have about 3-4 tsp a day, which is surprisingly controlled of me, considering.
    I haven’t tried almond butter. At least, I haven’t had it in many, many years so it’s like I’ve never tried it. I can’t remember what it tastes like or if it’s yummier than PB or not.
    That said, I’m intrigued. I love almonds and the thought that it’s better for me than PB is tempting in itself. My bf winces over the cost of PB so I think I’ll have to sneak off and buy the almond butter when he isn’t around so I don’t have to spend 5 minutes justifying why I want the “fancy” version of peanut butter.

  3. mostlyfitmom August 31, 2010 at 1:21 am #

    I don’t eat either, unfortunately, because our niece has a severe allergy and we try to keep our house nut free. Didn’t know that almond butter was actually healthier! Good to know!

    Our standard was Kraft smooth peanut butter, back in the day, but I was starting to buy the natural stuff. Once I got used to it, I preferred it to the regular, which is a lot sweeter.

    As for my organization skills, well, I feel like I’m still scrambling, but the start of the school year is always crazy. Less than 4 months until Christmas vacation! 😉

  4. Angela (the diet book junkie) August 31, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    i’ve never tried almond butter, but i’ve been looking for it. i wanna know what all the fuss is about! (lol!) thanks for the info, i didn’t know about the health benefits 🙂

  5. susan September 18, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    I see no reason to limit yourself! Right now, I have a jar of Krema natural pb open, a jar of Justin’s Maple Almond Butter open, and a jar of Justin’s Chocolate Peanut Butter open! I also have individual packets of Sun Butter (sunflower seed butter) and Barney Butter. Barney Butter is definitely my absolute #1 favorite, but I like pretty much all nut butters!

Leave a Reply

