The party is over and I’ve regressed….

30 Aug

My vacation is over.

Maternity leave is over and

work resumes tomorrow.  Good golly.    

I actually have much to share and will dole it out in short order, however, I just wanted to drop a quick post documenting my status – for better or for worse.

On a positive note, running an hour is no longer a big deal – I did it three times this week and have more fuel in my tank when I am done.  Thank goodness – I continue to see progress.  

My bad news:  I walked into a time machine and became 15 again.  Seriously, when one vacations/spends extended periods of time with ones parents you regress.  And regress I did.  I relived my childhood habits of not exercising, eating copious amounts of childhood snack foods that my parents purchased (i.e. Teddy Grahams,  crackers, chips) and drinking dark water (i.e. Diet Coke).   Yes, they drink diet coke like it is water.  Recently, my dad walked through my living room and something seemed “wrong.”  Then I realized it – he was holding a glass with some strange, clear exotic liquid in it (yes, water).  Not all was lost – I did have some vegetables, held the mayo on a sandwich, forced my son to give away candy bars he won at Bingo to other kids so we wouldn’t have them at home (mean mom), gave away my french fries, had one piece of pizza, and ….that is it I am afraid.   

So, why do we do it?  Am I alone?  Do we all fall back into old patterns/behaviors when we surround ourselves with specific situations/people?  In retrospect, I feel like I should have prepared myself more – acknowledged that my parents love to snack and I can’t do it this time, I need to bring alternative healthy snacks, etc.  The reality is – is that I am a grown up and have full responsibility for my actions.  In no way do I blame my parents for what I am putting in my mouth – however, spending time with them offers perspective as to why I am the way I am.  It also offers the reality of what may be if I continue to gain weight and live an unhealthy life – diabetes and cancer.

5 Responses to “The party is over and I’ve regressed….”

  1. mostlyfitmom August 30, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    Oh my gosh! I went to visit my parents last weekend and I was a free for all on my part! Homemade ice cream, cream pie, chocolate chip banana muffins, trail mix, caramels, etc. We also visited yesterday (picked up the kids who visited for a week) and in that time managed to eat more trail mix and 5 cookies. WTF! I don’t eat like that at my house, probably partly because I don’t keep those foods around. I still haven’t figured out how to stop it. I know the stuff will be there, but I can’t seem to control myself. *sigh* It’s also hard to say know when someone specifically makes dessert and asks you to have some. How does a person say no to their mom?

    • 45before35 August 30, 2010 at 12:20 am #

      I know – part of it is simply because this is how you related to them. So many moments of your relationship intertwined with food/drink. And I agree – how can you say no to homemade ice cream. Lord, that is the best.

  2. Stephanie@ avocado nation August 30, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    So, here’s my dirty little secret: I used to smoke. Yep, I was a big fat smoker. I would stop for awhile, but every time I was around a certain group of people, I would start up again like clockwork. It was a cycle that went on for years until the beginning of this year when I just stopped. I can totally sympathize with the falling into bad habits around certain people but now that you recognize it, you can take steps to minimize the damage.

    • 45before35 August 30, 2010 at 1:09 am #

      Ahhh yes, smoking. That is very situational. For me, whenever I would write I needed to smoke. It took me probably a year to figure out what to do when I was stuck writing… Good for you for breaking the cycle!

  3. couchpotatoathlete August 30, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    Ugh, my family is the same way. They eat what they want when they want. I have to watch it or I will gain weight which leads to me feeling horrible about myself. I’m comfortable with them and I fall back into old habits easily. I too need to take a second to recognize where I am going, what I am planning on eating/not eating and that I need to just enjoy my time with them, and that food is not the way to enjoy my time!

Leave a Reply

