A new month!

2 Sep

I love new months – to me it symbolizes a new beginning, a fresh clean slate.  The perfectionist in me likes this – which is why at the start of every new work cycle I do things like purchase a new workbook/office supplies – hoping that their newness will somehow transfer over to my work ethic.   

Ode to a fresh start….I guess right now, I really want to vent about my frustrations with working out, my lack of weight loss, etc. – however, I get so tired of complaining.  And who really wants to be around a complainer?  I want to be a Tigger – not an Eeyore (fyi- check out the last lecture).  The last two weeks have been crazy – my parents were here, vacation, now my in-laws are here.  I guess it is unrealistic for me for expect to adhere to my training program/weight loss hopes under these circumstances.  Hence, my progress somewhat diminishing  – I am weighing myself less and processed foods have been sneaking in.  I need to turn this ship around.  

New course:  Need to closely follow training program.  I also need to write down my foods and then contact a dietitian – I sincerely feel like I should be losing more weight given then I am working out 4-5 times a week and breastfeeding everyday.    I am also going to start the flylady program tomorrow (a day late – sorry Danielle – darn in-laws).  Hopefully having control in my home will help out.   And I hope to write more meaningful blogs that are jammed packed with value:)

10 Responses to “A new month!”

  1. mostlyfitmom September 2, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    That’s very ambitious of you! I’d like to say don’t be so hard on yourself. Wait, I just said it. You’ve got lots going on with going back to work and everything, so don’t beat yourself up if you can’t do everything you want to! Easier said than done, though, right? I also tend to be a perfectionist/control freak, so I get it. And I’m glad I’m not the only one who buys office supplies in an effort to motivate myself (but also because my office is a disaster and sometimes it’s easier to buy than to find – haha!).

    • 45before35 September 2, 2010 at 12:39 am #

      Yes, office supplies (especially pretty ones) make me so happy. I don’t quite understand it. I do, however, have the cutest file folders ever:)

  2. couchpotatoathlete September 2, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    It is hard to get anything done when family is staying with you 🙂

    My sister and her 2 kids stayed with us for a week, and I worked out 1 time (only because they went to a friend’s house for dinner and I was home alone!) — it just happens sometimes.

    Good luck with meeting with a dietician. I have thought about doing something similiar, just to get a prof’s opinion on what I”m eating, is it enough, etc.

    • 45before35 September 2, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

      It is very very hard – however, sometimes it is motivating (need some alone time:))

  3. Teresa September 2, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    I can totally understand your frustration with the slow losses. When we seem to be doing everything “right” and working so hard, success should follow. It’s a weird game, these weight loss numbers. I suspect you’ll have a breakthrough and drop a bunch at some point soon. I hope so.
    Especially with breastfeeding!! How do you do it all?

    • 45before35 September 2, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

      Thanks! And the answer – I don’t do it well:) – but I am working on it.

  4. Angela (the diet book junkie) September 2, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    oh yes, i know how crazy it gets when family is visiting. (lots of eating, not a lot of running :p)

    hope you find a great dietician! that’s something i would LOVE to do.

    • 45before35 September 2, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

      Yep – i am going to give it another month and then find some help.

  5. Danielle September 2, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

    That just shows you my (lack of) attention span and short term memory. I completely forgot about starting the flylady program! Ooops! It’s already the 3rd here.
    I will have to go through and write the “to do’s” in my little daily planner – at least until I’m in a routine. Will do that now! (And shine my sink when I get home!)

    • 45before35 September 4, 2010 at 9:45 am #

      Have you started? I will post pics of my sink at some point soon…

Leave a Reply

