Confessions of the….Gross

5 Sep

Ok, I have something to confess.  And given that I am not catholic I only have the blogosphere to hear my sins.     I went to my work place gym last Friday (yea – going to the gym).   However, that meant that I had to open my locker (with stuff in it) – which hadn’t been opened for an entire year.   Yes, that is right….  head bows in shame…..

I didn’t open my gym locker for over a year!

My gym is at work (so I wasn’t paying a membership) and when I found out I was pregnant I simply stopped going.  Out of sight/out of mind.  Frankly, I was a little nervous to see what was in my locker because we also have a pool which I use.  So would my swimsuit/swimsuits be in the there?  Wet towels?  Soaking wet sports bra that is now utterly covered in mold contaminating the other contents of my locker and spreading to other lockers…. and then everyone in the locker room would be up in arms with the mystery girl who never comes?  What? (I really couldn’t remember what was in my locker).   Fortunately, it ended up being a lot less gross than I thought.    My swimsuit/towels/sports bra, etc were NOT there.  The only things that remained was my spare makeup bag (with a complete set of make-up), shampoo, conditioner, razor, flip flops, blow dryer and deo.    I think that my towel and swimsuit were left hanging up outside of the locker and simply thrown away along the way (which I totally deserved).   Bad locker room user. 

What gross fitness/health related confessions do you have?

7 Responses to “Confessions of the….Gross”

  1. mostlyfitmom September 5, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Hahaha – too funny! My confession isn’t gross. But, I have had a membership at a local gym since May of 2009. Used it 4-5 times per week during the summer and really liked, then started working with my trainer at another gym (no gym fees for this), plus worked out a home due to convenience. So, I have been paying for a gym membership that I have used exactly once since last September. Oops! Talk about a waste of money. Yes, I did have a contract, but that expired back in May, so I should definitely type up that cancellation letter this weekend.

  2. Karen September 5, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    LOL! I did a similar thing with my “workout basket” that I keep in the back of the car – I didn’t clean it out for a year! But then I traded in my car for a new one and had to take out the workout basket.

    What I did was threw out the sweaty socks and shirt and washed out the basket 🙂

  3. couchpotatoathlete September 5, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    I did something simliar, but it wasn’t a locker, it was a gym bag. I reuse plastic bags or grocey bags as my “gym bag” (classy, no?) and once I threw it in the trunk of my car, and finally went in my trunk again after a few weeks.

    It wasn’t super gross, but there was definitley that “the trunk had something sweaty in it and then has been baking in the hot sun for weeks” smell. Yuck.

    • 45before35 September 6, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

      Yes, I continue to be amazed and how smelly workout clothes can be and how the smell travels…

  4. TheHealthyApron September 6, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    Ha, interesting question. I will have to think about that one!! Not sure!! Glad your locker wasn’t as bad as you thought!

  5. Wendy September 6, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    Ha! Great neglected-gym-locker story! Glad it wasn’t TOO terrifying. 😉
    My confession: I sometimes wear my gym socks for two workouts in a row before I wash them. Eew?

    • 45before35 September 6, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

      I have done that too – especially bike workouts….goodness I need to work on this issue.

Leave a Reply

