Progress!

7 Sep

Progress on my weight!

New weight related double digits are like a gentle breeze on a warm day – welcome and much appreciated.  Praise the lord….I have entered the 180s.  The 180s are “home sweet home”.  Ok, so not so sweet – but comfortable like an old, ugly shoe.    The 180s have been my frenemy for the last 8-9 years.   Specifically, my body gets stuck at 185.   It loves this number and never wants to leave.  After almost a year of running, prior to my pregnancy, I didn’t get below 183.  I did see (a mirage really) 173-176 on the scale 3 years ago for 4 months when I got sick with mono and pneumonia (at the same time).  When I was better my weight rebounded to, yup, you guessed it 185.     160-170+ was my weight for the first two years of graduate school (until things got much more stressful) and the last three years in graduate school it zoomed to 185 where it has been for eternity.  115 (so not healthy) -150 is a distant memory from high school and the beginning of college. 

In sum – I have been overweight/borderline obese for nearly ten years – age 25 on…..wow, that is a long time to be a big girl.

6 Responses to “Progress!”

  1. mostlyfitmom September 7, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    Congrats on breaking through! That’s a big deal. Guess the workouts and healthy eating (now that visitors and vacation are over) are kicking in. 🙂

    • 45before35 September 7, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

      Broke down and had M&Ms with almonds. There was protein -right????

  2. 1bigissue September 8, 2010 at 4:05 am #

    It doesn’t matter how long you have been big for, the point is that you are doing something about it now, and now is most definately better than later! Keep it up!

  3. Karen September 9, 2010 at 12:33 am #

    very cool that you are breaking that plateau! I am trying to break my own weight plateau this week.

    It seems like so much work sometimes, just to lose 1 lb! But we are in this adventure together 🙂

  4. Julie Losing It! September 11, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

    Isn’t funny how we all seem to have a block at a certain weight! Mine was 200, I couldn’t get past it forever! Literally, I hovered there for about 3 weeks before my body broke down and let me pass it by! I think it is part mental and part physical. I know this was my issue, it was my safety. What is going to happen once I get by this? I wanted to, but would I get right back there?? Now that I’m past it, it seems like a distant memory! I am the same height as you and started out at 213! I am now almost at the 170’s! It is like a dream come true! I haven’t seen this weight in over 15 years! It will come, trust me!!!!
    Oh, and keep swimming! That’s how I hit it hard and fast! I was dropping 3 pounds a week all summer while I was swimming 1800 yards in about 40 minutes!

    • 45before35 September 12, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

      You are so inspiring! 170….it has been so long. I can’t wait till I see that!

Leave a Reply

